Utah / Services

Coin counting at Utah banks and credit unions

21 of 93 banks and credit unions in Utah list coin counting on their websites: 14 credit unions and 7 banks.

Some banks and credit unions have a self-serve coin machine; others count coins at the teller and deposit them to your account. Fees, if any, are shown as each one states them.

At a glance

Free for members or customers
7 banks and credit unions
Anyone else can use it
5 banks and credit unions
Branches that confirm it
100 branches; 76 open the lobby on Saturday
Branches that say no
41 branches

01 / Compare

Compare banks and credit unions

Coin counting: what each bank's and credit union's website says
Bank or credit unionMembers or customersAnyone elseWhere
America First Credit UnionCredit union Not statedNot stated42 branches
Goldenwest Credit UnionCredit union $10.00 per hour; varies by type of coin counted and account relationshipNot stated2 branches
U.S. BankBank Free at branch coin-counting kiosksNot offered1 branch
Utah Community Credit UnionCredit union 10% on amounts of $200 or more10% on all amountsNot stated
Cyprus Credit UnionCredit union 5% of coin deposits over $100Not statedEvery branch
Cache Valley BankBank $5.00 per hundred dollarsNot statedNot stated
State Bank of Southern UtahBank $2 per bagNot stated3 branches
Deseret First Credit UnionCredit union 3% ($10 minimum)Not statedNot stated
Security Service Federal Credit UnionCredit union FreeNot stated12 branches
American United Federal Credit UnionCredit union Not statedNot statedEvery branch
Jordan Credit UnionCredit union Not statedNot stated4 branches
Grand Valley BankBank Not statedNot stated1 branch
Utah Heritage Credit UnionCredit union Free10% of all amountsNot stated
Desertview Federal Credit UnionCredit union FreeNot statedNot stated
Firefighters Credit UnionCredit union Free (unrolled coin deposits)Not statedNot stated
P&S Credit UnionCredit union Free (unrolled coin deposits)Not statedNot stated
Sunwest BankBank $7.50 per bag of loose coin deposited at a branchNot statedNot stated
Banterra BankBank Not stated10% of amount, $5 minimumNot stated
Delta Community Credit UnionCredit union 3% fee for daily transactions over $250; no fee stated below thatNot statedSome branches
Redemption BankBank Not statedNot statedEvery branch
Ridgeline Credit UnionCredit union FreeCharge applies (amount not stated)Every branch

02 / By city

Coin counting by city

Branches whose bank or credit union names them for coin counting, in 45 Utah cities. Each city opens with the filter on.

The other 33 cities

03 / Details

What each bank and credit union says

Credit unionAmerica First Credit Union

Offered

At 42 branches.

Credit unionGoldenwest Credit Union

Offered

At 2 branches.

The fee schedule lists "Coin Counting (per hour)"; it does not say whether counting is self-serve or which branches offer it.

Member fee
$10.00 per hour; varies by type of coin counted and account relationship.

Branches where it is offered

“Coin Counting (per hour) $10.00 Varies by type of coin counted and account relationship”

Where we found it

BankU.S. Bank

Offered

At 1 branch. Free for customers at branch coin-counting kiosks. Customers only.

Self-serve Coinstar kiosks in select U.S. Bank branches count coins and transfer them to a U.S. Bank checking account. Coinstar retail kiosks charge U.S. Bank clients 2.5%. Branches with a kiosk are found with the locator filter "Coin counter".

Branches where it is offered

“Coin-counting kiosks are also available in select U.S. Bank branches with no fee.”

“An active consumer U.S. Bank debit card is required to use this service”

Where we found it

Credit unionUtah Community Credit Union

Offered

Member fee: 10% on amounts of $200 or more. Non-members: 10% on all amounts.

The fee schedule names a coin machine processing fee; no page says which branches have a coin machine.

“Coin Machine Processing Fee For members: 10% charge for amounts $200 or greater”

Where we found it

Credit unionCyprus Credit Union

Offered

At every branch. Member fee: 5% of coin deposits over $100.

Loose coins are counted and deposited into the member account at any branch; fees may apply to coin deposits over $100. The page does not say whether the counter is self-serve.

“Bring your loose coins to be counted and deposited into your account”

“Coin > $100 ........................................................................... 5%”

Where we found it

BankCache Valley Bank

Offered

Customer fee: $5.00 per hundred dollars.

Account Fee Disclosure lists "Coin Processing Per Transaction"; it does not say whether by machine or staff.

“Coin Processing Per Transaction ........................................................................... ................................................... $5.00 per hundred dollars”

Where we found it

At 3 branches. Customer fee: $2 per bag.

The fee schedule lists a Coin Processing Fee; branch pages list a Coin Counter at 3 branches (Cedar City Main, Cedar South Interchange, River Road). Business checking also offers coin wrapping at the Cedar City and Kanab offices.

Branches where it is offered

“Coin Processing Fee $2 per bag”

Where we found it

And 1 more page, shown on each branch page.

At 12 branches. Free for members.

Self-service coin counters at many Texas, Utah and Colorado locations; the receipt is used for cash back or a deposit. Utah branch pages list a coin counter at every branch except Sandy.

Branches where it is offered

“Free Self-Service Coin Counters Available at many of our Texas, Utah, and Colorado locations”

Where we found it

And 10 more pages, shown on each branch page.

At every branch.

The branch list shows a "Coin Counter" label at every Utah branch and at the Morongo and Soboba branches in California; no coin counting fee is published.

“Learn More ATM Coin Counter”

Where we found it

Credit unionUtah Heritage Credit Union

Offered

Free for members. Non-members: 10% of all amounts.

Fee schedule lists "Coin Machine Processing"; separately, coin counting and wrapping costs 10% of rolled coin. The site does not say which offices have the machine.

“Coin Machine Processing Members: Free Non-Member: 10% charge on all amounts”

Where we found it

Credit unionDesertview Federal Credit Union

Offered

Free for members.

Bring loose change and run it through the coin counter yourself; the page does not say whether non-members may use it or which branch has it.

“run it through our coin counter”

Where we found it

Credit unionFirefighters Credit Union

Offered

Free for members (unrolled coin deposits).

The fee schedule lists free deposits of unrolled (loose) coins; it does not say whether a self-serve machine or staff count them, or which branches take them.

“Coin Deposit (rolled or unrolled) No Charge”

Where we found it

Credit unionP&S Credit Union

Offered

Free for members (unrolled coin deposits).

The fee schedule lists free deposits of unrolled (loose) coins; it does not say whether a self-serve machine or staff count them, or which branches take them.

“Coin Deposit (Rolled/Unrolled) FREE”

Where we found it

BankSunwest Bank

Offered

Customer fee: $7.50 per bag of loose coin deposited at a branch.

Personal fee schedule; rolled coin deposits are $0.10 per roll. It does not say whether a machine or staff counts loose coin, or which branches take it.

“Coin Deposited at Branch, Loose $7.50 per bag”

Where we found it

BankBanterra Bank

Offered

Non-customers: 10% of amount, $5 minimum.

Bank-wide fee list; no customer price given and no branch named. The Salt Lake City branch page does not list coin counting.

“Coin Counting Non-Customer 10% of amount $5 minimum”

Where we found it

Credit unionDelta Community Credit Union

Offered

At some branches.

Branch pages list 'Coin Counting Machine is available' under Features where a branch has one; the Salt Lake City airport branch page lists only ITM/Live Teller.

Member fee
3% fee for daily transactions over $250; no fee stated below that.

“Coin Machine Fee 3% fee for daily transactions that exceed $250.00”

Where we found it

BankRedemption Bank

Offered

At every branch.

Listed under Other Services with no fee; the page says to contact the bank for details. It does not say machine or staff.

“Cash Advances Coin Counting Money Orders”

Where we found it

Credit unionRidgeline Credit Union

Offered

At every branch. Free for members. Non-members: charge applies (amount not stated).

Listed as "Coin counting"; the page does not say whether it is a self-serve machine.

“Coin counting Free for members. Charge applies to non-members.”

Where we found it

Not listed on their websites

71 banks and credit unions do not mention coin counting on their websites. That does not mean they do not offer it: ask them.

Show the 71 banks and credit unions
How we check this

We read each bank's and credit union's own website and record what it says, with a link to the exact page and the date we checked it. Membership numbers, assets and founding years come from the federal agencies that insure deposits: the NCUA for credit unions and the FDIC for banks.

"Not listed on their site" means we did not find an answer on their website. It does not mean the service is unavailable: ask the bank or credit union.

More about how we check

Facts for your next visit.

See how we check