Utah / Services

Notary services at Utah banks and credit unions

44 of 93 banks and credit unions in Utah list notary services on their websites: 24 credit unions and 20 banks.

A notary public witnesses signatures on documents such as affidavits, powers of attorney and vehicle titles. Many banks and credit unions notarize free for their members or customers; some charge everyone else.

At a glance

Free for members or customers
22 banks and credit unions
Anyone else can use it
13 banks and credit unions, free at 2
Branches that confirm it
303 branches; 163 open the lobby on Saturday

01 / Compare

Compare banks and credit unions

Notary: what each bank's and credit union's website says
Bank or credit unionMembers or customersAnyone elseAppointmentWhere
Zions BankBank Not stated$10 per stampNot statedNot stated
America First Credit UnionCredit union Not statedNot statedNot statedSome branches
Mountain America Credit UnionCredit union FreeFreeNot neededEvery branch
Wells FargoBank Not statedNot statedNot statedEvery branch
Goldenwest Credit UnionCredit union FreeNot statedNot statedNot stated
ChaseBank Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
U.S. BankBank Not statedNot statedNot statedEvery branch
KeyBankBank Not statedNot offeredNot statedSome branches
Bank of AmericaBank FreeNot statedNot stated26 branches
Cyprus Credit UnionCredit union FreeNot statedRecommendedNot stated
Bank of UtahBank Not stated$10.00 per signatureNot statedNot stated
Cache Valley BankBank $10.00 per signatureNot statedNot statedNot stated
State Bank of Southern UtahBank No charge$5 flat feeNot statedEvery branch
Chartway Credit UnionCredit union FreeNot statedNot statedEvery branch
Deseret First Credit UnionCredit union Not statedNot statedNot stated12 branches
Security Service Federal Credit UnionCredit union FreeNot statedNot statedEvery branch
First Community Bank UtahBank FreeNot statedNot statedEvery branch
WaFd BankBank FreeNot statedNot statedNot stated
American United Federal Credit UnionCredit union FreeFreeRecommendedEvery branch
Utah Power Credit UnionCredit union FreeNot statedNot statedNot stated
D.L. Evans BankBank Not statedNot statedNot statedEvery branch
Vista BankBank Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
Wasatch Peaks Credit UnionCredit union Free$3 per notarizationNot statedEvery branch
Brighton BankBank Free with Platinum, Gold, Silver or Bronze CheckingNot statedNot statedNot stated
Utah Heritage Credit UnionCredit union $5Not statedNot statedNot stated
Utah Independent BankBank Free with No-fee, Regular and Business CheckingNot statedNot statedNot stated
Elevate Credit UnionCredit union Not stated$5Not statedNot stated
Hercules First Federal Credit UnionCredit union FreeNot statedNot statedNot stated
Northrop Grumman Federal Credit UnionCredit union Standard notary fees (amount not published; not on the Schedule of Fees)Offered; standard notary feesRequiredSome branches
Pacific Horizon Credit UnionCredit union FreeNot statedNot statedNot stated
Chevron Federal Credit UnionCredit union Free, unless the documents are real estate related and not affiliated with the credit unionUp to $15.00 per signature (the maximum varies by state)Not statedNot stated
Firefighters Credit UnionCredit union FreeNot statedNot statedNot stated
Freedom Credit UnionCredit union Not statedNot statedNot statedEvery branch
Millard County Credit UnionCredit union Free$5 per notaryNot neededNot stated
P&S Credit UnionCredit union FreeNot statedNot statedNot stated
Sunwest BankBank $10 each (Utah)Not statedNot statedNot stated
Banterra BankBank $1Not statedNot statedNot stated
Bonneville BankBank $5 per signature; free (up to two times a day) with Premier Checking, personal Money Market Checking or Business Analysis CheckingNot statedNot statedEvery branch
Delta Community Credit UnionCredit union First 12 items per calendar year free, then $4.00 per itemFirst 12 items per calendar year free, then $4.00 per itemRecommendedEvery branch
FinWise BankBank FreeNot statedNot statedNot stated
LU 354 IBEW Federal Credit UnionCredit union Not statedNot statedNot statedEvery branch
Ridgeline Credit UnionCredit union FreeNot statedNot statedEvery branch
UMB BankBank FreeNot statedNot statedNot stated
Varex Federal Credit UnionCredit union Not stated$5 per notary serviceNot statedEvery branch

02 / By city

Notary by city

Branches whose bank or credit union names them for notary services, in 80 Utah cities. Each city opens with the filter on.

The other 68 cities

03 / Details

What each bank and credit union says

BankZions Bank

Offered

Non-customers: $10 per stamp.

From the Utah schedule of fees row "Non Customer Notary Fee - Utah" ($10.00 per stamp). The schedule gives no price for customers, and no page found says which branches notarize.

“Non Customer Notary Fee - Utah”

Where we found it

Credit unionAmerica First Credit Union

Offered

At some branches.

Notary publics at select branches for documents such as loan forms, affidavits and title transfers. The page sends people to an online appointment scheduler and says to bring a valid government-issued photo ID with all signers present; it names no branches, no fee and no non-member policy.

“At select America First branches, our notary publics are here to assist”

Where we found it

BankChase

Offered

Offered.

Chase lists notary services among the services generally offered at its branches. It publishes no price and does not say which branches; none of its Utah branch pages lists a notary service.

“Notary Services”

Where we found it

BankU.S. Bank

Offered

At every branch.

Offered at many branches (each Utah branch page lists Notary). Bring unsigned documents and valid ID; every signer must be present. The site gives no fee and does not say whether non-customers are served. This page calls an appointment optional, but the FAQ on each branch page says notarizing needs an appointment.

“We offer notary services at many of our branches”

Where we found it

And 36 more pages, shown on each branch page.

BankKeyBank

Offered

Customers only. At some branches.

KeyBank's stated notary policy: available to existing KeyBank clients; call the local branch to see if a notary is available at that location and time. No fee is stated.

“Public notary services are available to existing KeyBank clients.”

Where we found it

BankBank of America

Offered

Free for customers. At 26 branches.

The FAQ says notary is free to Bank of America customers for most types of transactions. The notary page describes a financial center appointment of about 30 minutes and does not say whether non-customers are served. 26 of the 29 Utah branch pages list Notary.

The 26 branches where it is offered

“Notary services are available at some financial centers”

“Bank of America does not charge a fee for notary services.”

Where we found it

And 25 more pages, shown on each branch page.

Credit unionCyprus Credit Union

Offered

Free for members. An appointment is recommended.

The page asks members to schedule an appointment with a certified notary; it does not name branches or mention non-members.

“We offer notary services free to Cyprus CU members.”

Where we found it

BankBank of Utah

Offered

Non-customers: $10.00 per signature.

The fee schedule prices notary service for non-customers only; it gives no customer price.

“Notary Service (for Non-Customers) $10.00/signature”

Where we found it

Credit unionChartway Credit Union

Offered

Free for members. At every branch.

Basic notarization for members; bring a valid photo ID. Will not certify copies of vital records or court documents, notarize wills, or notarize blank or incomplete documents.

“We offer notary service at no charge at any of our branch locations.”

Where we found it

Free for members. At every branch.

Members only; the document must include a notary statement, and employees cannot serve as witnesses (bring your own).

“Free Notary Service Available for members at all Security Service locations”

Where we found it

Free for customers. At every branch.

First Community Bank Utah, Glacier Bank's Layton-based Utah division, says customers can get a free notary at any of its 10 branches (a 2023 article). Altabank's site does not mention notary service (its site search for "notary" finds nothing), so the 23 Altabank branches are not in the list.

“we offer free notary services to our customers”

Where we found it

BankWaFd Bank

Offered

Free for customers.

No fee for existing clients; the fee schedule gives no price for non-clients.

“Notary Services No Fee for Existing Clients”

Where we found it

Free for members and non-members. An appointment is recommended. At every branch.

Picture ID required; original documents or certified copies only. Available at all branches when a notary is in; the page asks you to call first.

“provides free notary services to both members & non-members”

Where we found it

BankVista Bank

Offered

Offered.

Mobile notary is listed only as a complimentary benefit of the Private Client tier; the site publishes no notary service for other customers.

“Complimentary wires, checks, printed and cashier's checks, and mobile notary for our Private Client tier”

Where we found it

Credit unionWasatch Peaks Credit Union

Offered

Free for members. Non-members: $3 per notarization. At every branch.

Bring state or government issued ID. Acknowledgments, copy certifications, jurats, oaths and affirmations.

“This service is free to members of Wasatch Peaks Credit Union, or $3/notary”

Where we found it

BankBrighton Bank

Offered

Customers: free with Platinum, Gold, Silver or Bronze Checking.

Each consumer checking account lists Notary Services among the services free with that account; the bank's services list also names Notary Service for personal and business customers. No price for non-customers is published.

“Mobile Wallet Notary Service Night Drop Online Banking”

“FREE with a Bronze Checking Account: Online Banking Bill Pay** Online E-Statements 24-Hour Tele-link Notary”

Where we found it

BankUtah Independent Bank

Offered

Customers: free with No-fee, Regular and Business Checking.

Each checking account's feature list includes 'Free notary service'; no price for non-customers is published.

“Free UIBillPay Free notary service”

Where we found it

Non-members: offered; standard notary fees. Appointment required. At some branches.

Offered at most locations; contact the branch to schedule.

Members
Standard notary fees (amount not published; not on the Schedule of Fees).

“we offer notary services at most of our locations for both members and non-members”

Where we found it

Credit unionChevron Federal Credit Union

Offered

Non-members: up to $15.00 per signature (the maximum varies by state).

Members
Free, unless the documents are real estate related and not affiliated with the credit union.

“There are no charges for CFCU Members unless the documents are real estate related”

Where we found it

Credit unionFreedom Credit Union

Offered

At every branch.

Appointed notaries in Provo and Springville; call ahead or come in person. No fee is published.

“We have "appointed" notaries in Provo and Springville.”

Where we found it

Credit unionMillard County Credit Union

Offered

Free for members. Non-members: $5 per notary. No appointment needed.

Basic notary services; valid government ID required; appointments or walk-ins welcome; bring your own witnesses.

“There is a fee for non-members of $5 per notary.”

Where we found it

BankBanterra Bank

Offered

Customers: $1.

Bank-wide fee list shows 'Notary Service $1' with no customer or non-customer split and no branch named.

“Notary Service $1”

Where we found it

BankBonneville Bank

Offered

At every branch.

Several Utah notaries in the office; notarizations in person with current government-issued photo ID. The page does not say whether non-customers are served.

Customers
$5 per signature; free (up to two times a day) with Premier Checking, personal Money Market Checking or Business Analysis Checking.

“Notary services cost $5.00 per signature”

Where we found it

Credit unionDelta Community Credit Union

Offered

An appointment is recommended. At every branch.

Any page needing a notary seal counts as an item. Cannot notarize federal I-9 forms or wills and trusts.

Members and non-members
First 12 items per calendar year free, then $4.00 per item.

“Notaries are available at all Delta Community branch locations.”

“appointments are recommended for in-branch services”

Where we found it

BankUMB Bank

Offered

Free for customers.

Free for UMB account holders per the consumer fee schedule; no price stated for others. The Utah branch's locator page does not list Notary among its services (the locator tags notary per branch).

“Notary Public; Notarial Service Fees No fee for UMB accountholders”

Where we found it

Not listed on their websites

48 banks and credit unions do not mention notary services on their websites. That does not mean they do not offer it: ask them.

Show the 48 banks and credit unions
How we check this

We read each bank's and credit union's own website and record what it says, with a link to the exact page and the date we checked it. Membership numbers, assets and founding years come from the federal agencies that insure deposits: the NCUA for credit unions and the FDIC for banks.

"Not listed on their site" means we did not find an answer on their website. It does not mean the service is unavailable: ask the bank or credit union.

More about how we check

Facts for your next visit.

See how we check