Utah / Services

Safe deposit boxes at Utah banks and credit unions

43 of 93 banks and credit unions in Utah list safe deposit boxes on their websites: 18 credit unions and 25 banks.

Which banks and credit unions rent safe deposit boxes, and at which branches. Many branches do not have boxes, so check the branch list before you go.

At a glance

Branches that confirm it
242 branches; 116 open the lobby on Saturday
Branches that say no
123 branches

01 / Compare

Compare banks and credit unions

Safe deposit boxes: what each bank's and credit union's website says
Bank or credit unionWhereBox sizes listed
Zions BankBank Some branches51 sizes
America First Credit UnionCredit union 34 branchesNot stated
Wells FargoBank 58 branchesNot stated
Goldenwest Credit UnionCredit union 21 branches7 sizes
ChaseBank Not statedNot stated
U.S. BankBank 9 branchesNot stated
KeyBankBank 23 branchesNot stated
Bank of AmericaBank Some branchesNot stated
Utah Community Credit UnionCredit union 7 branches4 sizes
Cyprus Credit UnionCredit union Some branchesNot stated
AltabankBank 19 branchesNot stated
Bank of UtahBank Not stated6 sizes
Cache Valley BankBank Not stated7 sizes
State Bank of Southern UtahBank Not stated5 sizes
Central BankBank 10 branches7 sizes
Chartway Credit UnionCredit union 8 branchesNot stated
Deseret First Credit UnionCredit union 2 branchesNot stated
Security Service Federal Credit UnionCredit union 11 branches2 sizes
WaFd BankBank 6 branchesNot stated
American United Federal Credit UnionCredit union 6 branches4 sizes
D.L. Evans BankBank 3 branchesNot stated
First Utah BankBank Not statedNot stated
Vista BankBank Some branchesNot stated
Wasatch Peaks Credit UnionCredit union Not stated7 sizes
BMOBank Every branchNot stated
Brighton BankBank Not stated4 sizes
Horizon Credit UnionCredit union Not statedNot stated
Jordan Credit UnionCredit union 3 branchesNot stated
Grand Valley BankBank Every branchNot stated
Utah Independent BankBank Every branchNot stated
Eastern Utah Community Credit UnionCredit union Not stated4 sizes
Elevate Credit UnionCredit union 1 branch4 sizes
Hercules First Federal Credit UnionCredit union 2 branches6 sizes
Members First Credit UnionCredit union 2 branchesNot stated
Columbia BankBank Some branchesNot stated
Desertview Federal Credit UnionCredit union Not statedNot stated
Freedom Credit UnionCredit union Every branchNot stated
Millard County Credit UnionCredit union Not statedNot stated
Sunwest BankBank Not statedNot stated
Banterra BankBank Not statedNot stated
Bonneville BankBank Every branch4 sizes
FinWise BankBank Not stated2 sizes
Redemption BankBank Every branchNot stated

02 / By city

Safe deposit boxes by city

Branches whose bank or credit union names them for safe deposit boxes, in 70 Utah cities. Each city opens with the filter on.

The other 58 cities

03 / Details

What each bank and credit union says

BankZions Bank

Offered

At some branches.

Annual fees from the Utah personal schedule of fees (effective June 26, 2026); sizes are in inches. Box key fee $25 at first issue (two keys provided). Not every size is available at every branch.

“Box sizes listed are not available at every branch location.”

Where we found it

Credit unionAmerica First Credit Union

Offered

At 34 branches.

BankWells Fargo

Offered

At 58 branches.

Credit unionGoldenwest Credit Union

Offered

At 21 branches.

Leased to members only. A second "P.C. Yr Fee" column lists lower fees ($7.50 to $45.00); the President's Club page lists a safe deposit box discount. Sizes and availability vary by branch. Also offered at Eagle and Post Falls, Idaho.

The 21 branches where it is offered

“Safe deposit boxes are leased to Goldenwest members”

Where we found it

BankChase

Offered

No new rentals.

Chase does not rent new boxes; existing leases renew yearly, with rent that varies by size and location (no sizes or prices published). The safe deposit box lease agreement says the same.

“We currently do not rent new Safe Deposit Boxes”

Where we found it

BankU.S. Bank

Offered

New rentals accepted. At 9 branches.

Opened by appointment at a branch; the cost is discussed at the appointment. The Consumer Pricing Information PDF (effective August 10, 2026) lists safe deposit box late payment and lock drilling fees but no box sizes or annual rental fees. 9 of 38 Utah branch pages list safe deposit boxes.

Branches where it is offered

“To open a safe deposit box, simply schedule an appointment at a branch.”

Where we found it

And 7 more pages, shown on each branch page.

BankKeyBank

Offered

At 23 branches.

Sizes range from 1" x 5" to 10" x 10"; the page says to contact the local branch for specific box sizes, availability and pricing, and publishes no fees. Contents are not FDIC insured. 23 of the 31 Utah branch pages list a safe deposit box under Features & Services.

The 23 branches where it is offered

“Know your valuables, documents and irreplaceable mementos are secure in a KeyBank safe deposit box.”

Where we found it

And 21 more pages, shown on each branch page.

BankBank of America

Offered

At some branches.

Sizes and fees are not published; the FAQ says to ask the local financial center for availability and fees. The branch locator does not show safe deposit boxes per branch.

“Most financial centers offer safe deposit boxes.”

Where we found it

Credit unionUtah Community Credit Union

Offered

At 7 branches.

Key replacement $25 per key; drilling $175 per drill.

Branches where it is offered

“Locations Provo Headquarters Nephi Orem North Orem South Pleasant Grove American Fork Spanish Fork”

“Safe Deposit Box Rental Fee 3x5 Box: $15.00 per year”

Where we found it

Credit unionCyprus Credit Union

Offered

New rentals accepted. At some branches.

Sizes and branches vary with availability; members are asked to contact their branch. The fee schedule PDF lists no box sizes or fees.

“Safe deposit boxes are available to rent to all members.”

Where we found it

BankAltabank

Offered

At 19 branches.

Altabank rents boxes in its branch vaults, sizes from 3x5 up to 10x10 inches; its page says boxes are not available at the Sandy, South Jordan, Logan, Preston (Idaho) or St. George River Road branches. Prices are not on the fee schedule. First Community Bank Utah's site does not mention safe deposit boxes, so its 10 branches are not in the list.

The 19 branches where it is offered

“Rent one of our safe deposit boxes inside our bank vaults”

Where we found it

BankBank of Utah

Offered

Offered.

Not all sizes are available at each branch. Key deposit $10, returned when both keys come back; drilling $90 to $200.

“3x5 $15.00/year 5x5 $25.00/year 3x10 $30.00/year”

Where we found it

BankCentral Bank

Offered

At 10 branches.

Yearly prices. $30 key deposit, returned with the keys; lost key drilling $100 or more. Sizes vary by office and not every size is at every office.

Branches where it is offered

“2'' x 5'' box - $12.50/year”

Where we found it

And 8 more pages, shown on each branch page.

Credit unionChartway Credit Union

Offered

At 8 branches.

Utah branches marked "Safe Deposit Boxes Available": Cedar City, Hurricane, Salt Lake City, Stansbury Park, Tabernacle, Tooele, West Jordan and West Valley (not Grantsville, Herriman, Murray, Red Cliffs or Sunset). Sizes and fees are not published; the site links no consumer fee schedule.

Branches where it is offered

“Cedar City, Utah 84720 - Safe Deposit Boxes Available”

Where we found it

At 11 branches.

The page gives only the range: sizes from 2x5 to 10x20 and annual fees from $20 for smaller boxes to $100 for larger boxes; sizes in between and their fees are not listed. $20 to replace a lost key. Certain sizes are not available at all locations; call 1-800-527-7328 to check availability. Utah list: American Fork, Orem, Pleasant Grove, Provo, Riverdale, Riverton, St. George, Sandy, Springville, South Jordan, Westwood (not Bountiful or Payson).

Branches where it is offered

“Annual fees range from $20 for smaller boxes up to $100 for larger boxes”

Where we found it

BankWaFd Bank

Offered

At 6 branches.

Size and availability vary by location; a branch gives quotes and the annual rent schedule is available on request (not online).

Branches where it is offered

“Safe deposit box size and availability vary by location.”

Where we found it

And 4 more pages, shown on each branch page.

At 6 branches.

Members 18 and older only; rent is due annually; GoldStar members get 20% off.

Branches where it is offered

“Learn More Drive-Up ATM Coin Counter Safe Deposit Box”

“3 x 10 | Small | $20 5 x 10 | Medium | $35”

Where we found it

BankFirst Utah Bank

Offered

Offered.

Full Service Checking customers get a $15 discount on the annual box rental fee, subject to availability, with a one-time $10 key deposit. Box sizes and prices are not published.

“Annual Safe Deposit Box rental fee discount of $15 (subject to availability”

Where we found it

BankVista Bank

Offered

At some branches.

Boxes are opened at a local banking center; the FAQ sends customers to the locations page for centers that offer them, and none of the seven Utah location pages lists safe deposit boxes. Sizes and prices are not published.

“find the location nearest you that offers Safe Deposit Boxes”

Where we found it

Credit unionHorizon Credit Union

Offered

Offered.

The fee schedule lists safe deposit box rental as "Varies by size"; sizes, prices and which branches have boxes are not published.

“Safe Deposit Box Rental Varies by size”

Where we found it

BankGrand Valley Bank

Offered

At every branch.

One personal checking account's 'Other Star Benefits' include a $20 annual credit toward safe deposit box rental. Box sizes and prices are not published.

“$20 annual credit toward safe deposit box rental.”

Where we found it

And 2 more pages, shown on each branch page.

Credit unionElevate Credit Union

Offered

At 1 branch.

Brigham City only. $1 for the first year, then $10 to $35 a year by size, withdrawn from the member's account; a $15 key deposit applies when keys are issued.

Branches where it is offered

“Our Brigham City location has safe deposit boxes in several sizes.”

“Safe deposit box (annual rental) 3" x 5"”

Where we found it

At 2 branches.

The services page says boxes are rented at the branches in a variety of sizes and to contact a branch about availability; the fee schedule prices boxes only at Taylorsville and Herriman. A $10 key deposit applies.

Branches where it is offered

“we offer Safe Deposit Boxes for rent at our branches”

“Safe Deposit Boxes: Taylorsville (3" x 5" x 21") $15.00 Annually”

Credit unionDesertview Federal Credit Union

Offered

Offered.

Offered "with a low annual rate"; no sizes or prices are published (the fee schedule page is under construction).

“bring it in to our safe deposit boxes”

Where we found it

Credit unionFreedom Credit Union

Offered

At every branch.

Sizes are in inches. Prices from the Springville table on the Other Services page.

“3x10 inches $60/year 5x10 inches $80/year 10x10 inches $150/year”

Where we found it

BankSunwest Bank

Offered

Offered.

Personal fee schedule: rent varies by box size, check with the local branch for availability; replacement key $20, late fee $10 a month, drilling at least $250. No sizes or rents published.

“Safe Deposit Box Rent (Check with local branch for availability)”

Where we found it

BankBanterra Bank

Offered

Offered.

Bank-wide fee list gives safe deposit box key replacement ($25), drilling ($25 plus invoice), late payment ($5 after 30 days) and key deposit ($25) fees; no box sizes, rents or branches published. The Salt Lake City branch page does not list safe deposit boxes.

“Safe Deposit Box & Lockers Key Replacement $25 (one key)”

Where we found it

BankBonneville Bank

Offered

New rentals accepted. At every branch.

$10 key deposit; $140 to drill a box for lost keys. Premier Checking and personal Money Market Checking holders get a free 3x5x18 box. The page says not all sizes may be currently available.

“We offer long-term rentals of boxes of various sizes”

Where we found it

BankRedemption Bank

Offered

At every branch.

Listed under Other Services; no sizes or fees published. The page says to contact the bank for details.

“Official Checks Safe Deposit Boxes Wire Transfers”

Where we found it

Banks and credit unions that say they do not offer it

Not listed on their websites

47 banks and credit unions do not mention safe deposit boxes on their websites. That does not mean they do not offer it: ask them.

Show the 47 banks and credit unions
How we check this

We read each bank's and credit union's own website and record what it says, with a link to the exact page and the date we checked it. Membership numbers, assets and founding years come from the federal agencies that insure deposits: the NCUA for credit unions and the FDIC for banks.

"Not listed on their site" means we did not find an answer on their website. It does not mean the service is unavailable: ask the bank or credit union.

More about how we check

Facts for your next visit.

See how we check