Utah / Services

Medallion signature guarantees at Utah banks and credit unions

13 of 93 banks and credit unions in Utah list medallion signature guarantees on their websites: 7 credit unions and 6 banks.

A medallion signature guarantee is needed to transfer or sell stocks and bonds. It is not a notary stamp. Banks and credit unions that offer it usually limit it to their own customers or members.

At a glance

Branches that confirm it
60 branches; 46 open the lobby on Saturday
Branches that say no
16 branches

01 / Compare

Compare banks and credit unions

Medallion signature guarantee: what each bank's and credit union's website says
Bank or credit unionWho can use itAppointmentWhere
Zions BankBank Customers onlyNot statedNot stated
America First Credit UnionCredit union Members onlyNot statedNot stated
Goldenwest Credit UnionCredit union Members onlyNot statedNot stated
U.S. BankBank Not statedNot stated35 branches
Bank of AmericaBank Customers onlyNot statedNot stated
Cyprus Credit UnionCredit union Not statedRequired12 branches
Cache Valley BankBank Not statedNot statedNot stated
Deseret First Credit UnionCredit union Not statedNot stated12 branches
Security Service Federal Credit UnionCredit union Members onlyNot statedNot stated
Utah Power Credit UnionCredit union Not statedNot statedNot stated
Brighton BankBank Not statedNot statedNot stated
Delta Community Credit UnionCredit union Members onlyRecommendedEvery branch
UMB BankBank Customers onlyNot statedNot stated

02 / Details

What each bank and credit union says

Credit unionAmerica First Credit Union

Offered

Members only.

America First also offers a Signature Validation stamp for non-securities transactions such as beneficiary, address and wire-instruction changes. No fee, appointment rule or branch list is published.

Conditions
Conditions

Every signer must be a member with an ongoing relationship and accounts in good standing and must show valid government ID; all owners must be present with a statement and the stock certificate; guarantees are limited to $1,000,000 per transaction; documents showing the legal right to sign (death certificate, trust agreement, corporate resolution, power of attorney) may be required.

“Each person requiring their signature to be guaranteed must be a member”

Where we found it

Credit unionGoldenwest Credit Union

Offered

Members only.

Called "Medallion stamp service"; no fee, appointment or branch details are published.

Conditions
Listed among President's Club benefits: members with $50,000 or more on deposit who opt in. The page does not say whether other members can get it.

“Medallion stamp service”

Where we found it

BankU.S. Bank

Offered

At 35 branches.

BankBank of America

Offered

Customers only.

Requests start with a financial center associate and a specialist reviews them, usually within 2 business days (up to 5 for complex cases); the stamped document is mailed. The page says the service is free for Private Bank or Merrill investment clients of 6 months and gives no price for other customers.

Conditions
Each signer must have been a Bank of America or Merrill client for at least 6 months. Not available for assets being transferred out of a Bank of America or Merrill account.

“must be a Bank of America or Merrill client for at least 6 months”

Where we found it

Credit unionCyprus Credit Union

Offered

Appointment required. At 12 branches.

Offered at 12 named branches (Magna, Midvalley, Union Park, Foothill, Centerville, Tooele, Millcreek, Jordan Landing, Sandy, Draper, Herriman, River Crossing). The page addresses members and says required documents must be prepared; it lists no conditions.

Branches where it is offered

“Members needing a medallion stamp must first contact their branch to schedule an appointment”

Where we found it

BankCache Valley Bank

Offered

Offered.

Medallion Signature Guarantee is listed at $50.00 per signature on the Account Fee Disclosure; the site states no eligibility rules.

“Medallion Signature Guarantee ............................................................................................... $50.00 per signature”

Where we found it

Members only.

The site calls it 'Signature Guarantee Service'. Every Utah branch page lists 'Signature guarantee' under Branch Services; Orem and South Jordan say up to $100K.

Conditions
Free; certifies your signature for transfers of securities such as stocks or bonds up to $100,000. $250,000 guarantees only at limited locations (call 1.888.415.7878).

“Free Signature Guarantee Service This member benefit certifies your signature when you transfer securities”

Where we found it

Credit unionUtah Power Credit Union

Offered

Offered.

Offered free; the page states no conditions.

“Utah Power Credit Union offers free Medallion Signature Guarantee and notary public service.”

Where we found it

BankBrighton Bank

Offered

Offered.

Listed as 'Signature Guarantee' under Personal Services and Business Services; the list does not say medallion, who qualifies or what it costs.

“Savings Bond (redeeming) Signature Guarantee Stop Payments”

Where we found it

Credit unionDelta Community Credit Union

Offered

Members only. An appointment is recommended. At every branch.

Conditions
Conditions

Requests take 3-5 business days to review; copies of the documents are submitted. First 5 requests per calendar year free, then $25.00 each. Only for sale, transfer or redemption of securities; not for business entities.

“Medallion Signature Guarantee Stamp requests are not available to shared branch members and non-members”

“appointments are recommended for in-branch services”

Where we found it

BankUMB Bank

Offered

Customers only.

The Utah branch's locator page does not list Medallion Signature Guarantee among its services (the locator tags it per branch).

Conditions
$2.00 per signature guarantee; UMB account holders only

“Medallion Signature Guarantee Fee $2.00 per signature guarantee (UMB accountholders only)”

Where we found it

Banks and credit unions that say they do not offer it

Not listed on their websites

77 banks and credit unions do not mention medallion signature guarantees on their websites. That does not mean they do not offer it: ask them.

Show the 77 banks and credit unions
How we check this

We read each bank's and credit union's own website and record what it says, with a link to the exact page and the date we checked it. Membership numbers, assets and founding years come from the federal agencies that insure deposits: the NCUA for credit unions and the FDIC for banks.

"Not listed on their site" means we did not find an answer on their website. It does not mean the service is unavailable: ask the bank or credit union.

More about how we check

Facts for your next visit.

See how we check